The following is a list of significant events in the development of BSK Theological Seminary:

1995-1997: The Kentucky Baptist Fellowship (now Cooperative Baptist Fellowship of Kentucky) created and empowered a Joint Venture Committee to explore partnership opportunities with existing seminaries in Kentucky and elsewhere. The Joint Venture Committee secured incorporation from the Commonwealth of Kentucky, creating the Baptist Seminary of Kentucky and naming eleven Trustees.

2001-2002: BSK elected longtime Kentucky pastor (Louisville, Murray, and Georgetown) Dr. Greg C. Earwood as the first president. Dr. Dalen Jackson, affirmed by the Trustees in the summer, became the first full-time faculty member as Associate Professor of Biblical Studies.

2002: Classes began at Calvary Baptist Church (Lexington) in August with 14 students. Dr. Dalen Jackson taught the first class.

2005: The Seminary held its first commencement ceremony with three graduates. Dr. E. Glenn Hinson, Senior Professor of Church History and Spirituality, delivered the address to the graduates.

2005: On August 1, BSK relocated to the campus of Lexington Theological Seminary. While remaining separate institutions with distinctive identities, the two seminaries began “sharing space and sharing grace.”

2007: On September 8, the Seminary celebrated its Encenia, a celebration of the founding of BSK. Dr. Emmanuel McCall was the event’s featured speaker.

2008: On March 10, BSK installed Dr. Dalen Jackson, Associate Professor of Biblical Studies, as the school’s first Academic Dean.

2009: On March 6, BSK launched the E. Glenn Hinson Lecture Series in commemoration of Dr. Hinson’s 50th year of teaching. Dr. Hinson delivered the inaugural lecture.

2010: The Seminary moved onto the campus of Georgetown College in Georgetown, Kentucky, during the summer.

2012: On August 25, the Seminary recognized the completion of its tenth year of classes with a Tenth Anniversary Celebration held on the campus of Georgetown College. Dr. Brett Younger was the featured speaker.

2015: In June, the Commission on Accrediting of the Association of Theological Schools granted BSK accreditation, approving the Master of Divinity degree program.

2016: The Seminary creates a partnership with Simmons College of Kentucky. Founding President Greg C. Earwood retires.

2017: David Cassady becomes second president of BSK

2018: BSK begins offering a full M.Div. in Louisville at Simmons College. Receives $300,000 grant from Baugh Foundation to support work at Simmons site.

2020: BSK named the official seminary of the National Baptist Convention of America International, Inc. (NBCA).

2020: BSK receives 10 year reaccredidation from the Association of Theological Schools (ATS) following self-study process.

2020: BSK approved by ATS for comprehensive distance education.

2020: Revised M.Div. Curriculum launched to now require 75 hours and infuse couses with Black church studies content.

2020: Cooperative Baptist Fellowship of Virginia selects BSK as partner to provide distance education for Virginia students.

2021:  Eula Mae and John Baugh Foundation awards BSK $750,000 to begin Institute for Black Church Studies.

2022: Cooperative Baptist Fellowship of Florida & the Caribbean Islands selects BSK as partner to provide distance education for their students.

2022: Lilly Endowment awards $998,725 grant to BSK as part of their “Pathways for Tomorrow” initiative.

2022: BSK moves main offices to Central Baptist Church in Lexington, KY.

2023: President Cassady elected to ATS Board of Commissioners.

2023: Dr. Mark Medley named interim academic dean.

2023: BSK enrollment for Fall semester is highest in school history.

2023: BSK’s Flourish audio/video studio installed at Crescent Hill Baptist Church, Louisville, KY.

2024: New degree program launched: Master of Arts in Ministry Studies. Dr. Laura Levens named program director.

2024: School name changed to BSK Theological Seminary to reflect our national footprint.