BSK Timeline


The following is a list of significant events in the development of Baptist Seminary of Kentucky:

1995: Baptist ministers and laity first gathered in Elizabethtown and then in Frankfort for what was called the Kentucky Consultation on Baptist Theological Education.

1995: A Joint Venture Committee was created by the Kentucky Baptist Fellowship to explore partnership opportunities with existing seminaries in Kentucky and elsewhere.

1996: The Joint Venture Committee became an autonomous group and secured incorporation from the Commonwealth of Kentucky, creating the Baptist Seminary of Kentucky and naming eleven Trustees. The Committee for Baptist Seminary of Kentucky continued to function as the main working group.

1997: The Trustees of Baptist Seminary of Kentucky launched a series of meetings around the Commonwealth to ascertain needs and interests.

2001: Baptist Seminary of Kentucky elected longtime Kentucky pastor (Louisville, Murray, and Georgetown) Dr. Greg C. Earwood as the first president.

2002: Dr. Dalen Jackson, affirmed by the Trustees in the summer, became the first full-time faculty member as Associate Professor of Biblical Studies.

2002: Classes began at Calvary Baptist Church (Lexington) in August with 14 students. Dr. Dalen Jackson taught the first class.

2005: The Seminary held its first commencement ceremony with three graduates. Dr. E. Glenn Hinson, Senior Professor of Church History and Spirituality, delivered the address to the graduates.

2005: On August 1, Baptist Seminary of Kentucky relocated to the campus of Lexington Theological Seminary. While remaining separate institutions with distinctive identities, the two seminaries began “sharing space and sharing grace.”

2007: On September 8, the Seminary celebrated its Encenia, a celebration of the founding of Baptist Seminary of Kentucky. Dr. Emmanuel McCall was the event’s featured speaker.

2008: On March 10, Baptist Seminary of Kentucky installed Dr. Dalen Jackson, Associate Professor of Biblical Studies, as the school’s first Academic Dean.

2009: On March 6, Baptist Seminary of Kentucky launched the E. Glenn Hinson Lecture Series in commemoration of Dr. Hinson’s 50th year of teaching. Dr. Hinson delivered the inaugural lecture.

2010: Baptist Seminary of Kentucky received Associate Membership in the Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada (ATS).

2010: The Seminary relocated to its present location on the campus of Georgetown College in Georgetown, Kentucky, during the summer.

2012: On August 25, the Seminary recognized the completion of its tenth year of classes with a Tenth Anniversary Celebration held on the campus of Georgetown College. Dr. Brett Younger was the featured speaker.

2013: The Seminary was granted Candidacy for Accredited Status by the ATS Board of Commissioners and began a two year period of institutional self-study.

2015: In June, the Commission on Accrediting of the Association of Theological Schools granted Baptist Seminary of Kentucky accreditation, approving the Master of Divinity degree program.

2016: Founding President Greg C. Earwood retires. The Trustees name Dr. Dwight A. Moody as the interim president.